top of page

What Would Darcy Do?

I love fanfiction! And I love serials even more. There is just something magical about discovery writing—writing the stories your favorite characters tell you without any plan about what happens next. Just. . .going where the beat of the story takes you.


I am, myself, a diehard plotter. I hardly never ever sit down to write without a detailed blueprint. (Ironically, by halfway through the characters always take over and the blueprint gets binned. But at least I start out with a plan.)


When I sat down to write this short (avoiding revisions on another novella sitting on my desk) I only had two words in my head; blackmail and ball. Also, it was supposed to be erotic flash fiction. lol. Like, two chapters just to help me rest my mind from my other manuscript.


But by the end I knew we were dealing with spies, the Home Office, insurrectionists and possibly an Elizabeth Bennet tearing about London after Mrs Younge. . .who I think has a deep, dark scheme of her own?


I’m not certain. I decided this is going to be our fly by the seat of our pantaloons, just for the sheer joy of it, serial.


So What Happens Next? I’d love for this to be a serial that develops based on reader feedback. If you’d like to throw around some What If’s, head over to my Forum and comment.


44 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page